The Barn Door…

I am very excited that I completed the first little project for the master bathroom! It was a small project, but it is already making a big difference and making me feel as though I have accomplished something toward my goal of updating that ugly bathroom.

Everything I do for our house is designed to utilize the small space that we have to the fullest. For quite some time now, I have been wanting to use a pocket door in a few areas in our home. I was going to build one as the door to the hallway bathroom, but then decided it was not worth the effort. I still kind of wish I had done it, but that’s life. Pocket doors can be a very involved anyway with having to replace the studs to accommodate the door. Now that I am upon the master bath remodel, I wanted to do a sliding barn door to save space and I’m a sucker for cool space saving house tricks.


For the past 13 years, we’ve had to deal with our closet door colliding with the bathroom’s entry door.

We’ve gotten hurt many times trying to walk into the bathroom while that darned closet door is open.

Before I start anything, I research, look at TONS of photos using the Internet for inspiration, look at our space a lot, research some more, draw a picture (because I’m a visual person), talk to many people at the hardware store, and then I start the project. Even when I think I’ve got something down, I run it past the husband to make sure I have thought of everything. This is probably why it’s taken so long for me to get started on the bathroom. So.Much.Planning. Anyway, my inspiration came from many sources, like herehere (by the way, don’t you LOVE that light fixture?), and  here. At first I thought I would make my own door but quickly realized that I wanted to keep the same door style as in the rest of the house, which are just cheap, hollow core, six panel doors. So I took my inspiration from the photo below which is the kitchen at Urban Nest Blog. Exactly what I wanted!

As with everything I do, I must draw a picture first to understand the project and get an idea of all the parts needed. I’m a pretty good artist don’t you think? Just kidding.

After drawing, I make several trips to various hardware stores walking up and down the aisles looking for different parts and trying to come up with inexpensive solutions. Oh! Of course I could have BOUGHT some barn door hardware already put together for me and ready to hang, but I quickly found that pre-made barn door hardware STARTS at $300!! If you know me, you know I’m frugal and I’d rather make it myself for waaaaaaaay less. This is what makes me peruse the aisles looking for alternative solutions.

After searching the Internet and seeing how other people made their own hardware, I decided I could do it too. I did not find this particular solution on the Internet but did realize DIYing the project was doable. It wasn’t that hard at all! I started out with the following items. Two pulleys, lag screws and bolts, 2-10″ mending braces, 6 feet of flat iron, and 6 feet of a 1×3 piece of lumber. You will see that the pulleys have some extra pieces attached to them that I didn’t use. They were just too bulky and all I wanted was the wheel.

For this project I used a level, stud finder, drill, various sized drill bits, pencil, square, and a socket wrench. I should also say, I used my husband to help me locate the studs and run some thoughts past him. 🙂
Now, I am lucky, I purchased the flat steel on clearance and the local hardware store guy drilled the holes I needed for free. 🙂 Before I could get those holes punched, I brought all my supplies home and measured the stud locations so I would know exactly where I would need to put those holes. But, if you don’t have a  nice hardware store man willing to do it for you then you can easily do it yourself with the proper drill bit. After fitting the wood and steel for placement above the door, I was able to see exactly what hardware parts I needed for the entire project.

Parts List:
5 lag screws (to hold the wood and steel to the wall) – 1.85
5 steel spacers (to distance the steel from the wood) – 4.80
13 washers (5 to prevent spacers from digging into
then the wood, 8 for the door/pulleys)   – 1.17
6 lock nuts (used on door and pulleys)                      – 1.26
6 lag bolts (used on door and pulleys)                       – 2.00
2 pulleys (the door’s gotta roll)                                 -10.00
1-6′ piece of flat steel (for the pulleys to roll on)        – 5.00
1-6′ 1×3 wood (to hang the door from)                    –  4.00
2-10″ mending braces (to hand the door)                 – 8.00
2-2″ corner irons (to stop the door from falling off)   –  2.00
2 rigid ties (to keep the door close to the wall)          –  1.90
1 tube of lube (to keep the pulleys smooth)               – 3.49
1 can of black spray paint (paint the hardware)         – 4.98
1 30″ hollow core door (to cover the opening)          -20.00
Grand total:                                       with tax about $75.00

I stained the wood but had the stain in my garage from another project I did so it was free. 🙂

So here are a few photos to show you how I used all the parts, and please overlook how dirty my walls are because they need to be cleaned,  painted, and partially textured, but that will happen after the remodel gets done.

The lag screw goes through the corner iron, flat steel,then a spacer and the wood.

Below you can see the wheels hang from the flat steel, and are put together using a bolt with two washers between the wheels and the mending brace (which is the flat steel with the holes in it). The washers were used to ensure the placement of the wheels were half way between the width of the door with is 1-1/4″ thick. This also keeps the wheel straight up and down preventing the wheel from wobbling.

Here you can see that another corner iron was used at the right side to prevent the door from falling off the track again. I used a washer underneath the spacer to prevent the spacer from digging into the soft wood. I had to place the bolt on the door facing outward because they dragged against the frame molding.

At the bottom of the door I screwed two rigid ties to the baseboards to keep the door from hanging out, away from the wall. You can find rigid ties in the decking supply section of the hardware store.

So, after putting it all together and hanging it on the wall, I disassembled and then spray painted most of the hardware black and stained the wood.

After waiting a few hours for the parts to dry, I re-assembled and here is what the finished product looks like! Tada!


I just love it. The walls will be painted and so will the door eventually, like, after some remodeling stuff happens, but I can’t wait to start on the entry door to the bathroom. This was my test run. What do you think?

Ang

3 thoughts on “The Barn Door…

  1. Hi Anon,

    I bought it at Lowe's. They have a few different sizes. It was in the hardware section where they sell chain links by the foot…good luck!

Leave a Reply

