On Parenting…

So, I don’t think I’ve ever seen an article on parenting concerning how frustrating it can be at times. Sure, you see articles on how to care for baby, having sleepless nights, handling tantrums, and dealing with sibling rivalry. Of course there are numerous articles on the subject of taking time for yourself so you don’t lose your sanity, but the truth is this, parenting can be a real bitch sometimes…well, A LOT of the time.

Now I love my children, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes, the truth is that I wish I were on a small island somewhere with calm coral colored waters listening to the waves break against the shore. Sigh. It’s not gonna happen. I’m sick of reading about how people have their kids and everything is always rosey posey and how they just love everything about parenting. It’s all bullshit. How about a big dose of reality?

If you’re a stay-at-homer like myself, and YES I CHOSE to be but I still get to bitch about the reality!!! You can count on all of these things:

  • Never having a true moment to yourself, not even to take a dump.
  • Rarely ever having a quiet moment in the house unless you run and hide in your closet even reducing yourself to holding your breath so they won’t find you.
  • Having to acquire the ability to focus on your thoughts while listening to the TV blaring loudly, the computers pinging, laughter in the background along with the cat meowing or dog barking, the sound of the washing machine washing and the dryer drying, constant yelling, fighting and screaming, and crying of “That’s mine!”, “I was here first!” or “Shut-up!”
  • Never being able to wake when you WANT to wake and your body is READY to wake because someone flings the door open to your bedroom either in the middle of the night or at the crack of dawn.
  • Cringing after just being forcefully woken and hearing “I’m hungry.”
  • Cringing after having just heard, “What’s for dinner?” for the KAZILLIONTH time.
  • Listening to the constant incessant noises that come out of your children’s mouths because they cannot keep quiet for 5 consecutive seconds.
  • Dealing with the slamming of closing doors.

Can you see a pattern here? There is never truly a quiet moment in a stay-at-homer’s head. Or maybe it’s just me, I don’t know? Now, I really am lucky that I’ve been able to stay home with my kids for so long, but on the other hand, some days I really wish I had my old job back and was the one “bringing home the bacon.” For me, it’s been seven years this summer and I truly cannot believe I’ve managed to stay couped up in my humble home with three active children without pulling every inch of my hair out. What?! How can you feel that way you ask?

Easily, after enduring everything bulleted above in only the first three hours of my day, I also had to deal with the fighting between my eldest and my youngest. I had to jump up and police these two children only to learn that my eldest (whom I KNOW understands the difference between right and wrong) had choked my youngest because he became completely frustrated with him. Sigh…these are the days of my life.

Ah, yes, the joys of parenting. I will tell you that it’s no piece of cake, it is not always rosey posey, and we are not always perfect. Parenting can definitely be a bitch sometimes and you will want to run away from it all MANY MANY times over and trade it all in for that calm coral colored beach. The difference between bad parenting and good parenting? It’s not looking at greener grasses of well-behaved children or tidy houses through rose-colored glasses. I think it is perhaps those who actually do run away to that beach versus those who realize the insanity is only temporary and decide to stick around despite how cuckoo those children might make you on any given day.

Leave a Reply

