Family Man

“Good things come to those who wait”
And I’ve waited oh so long.
I’ve been down on my luck more times than I know
Just wondering where I belong.

Out of high school I found myself
Married with a house and two kids
And when I’d thought I’d achieved the American dream,
It all fell apart on me.

Then one day I woke up and it seemed I was all alone.
Struggling to make a name for myself,
I had to find my place again;
I had to find a new life a new home.

I’ve been all around working hard,
I’ve got a great career.
I’ve made some mistakes but they don’t bring me down,
I keep walking without any fear.
I’ve got my kids to think about
Even though we’ve always been apart—
They make me the man I am today,
They’re still my soul and my heart.

Been away from Mom and Dad; brother and sisters too.
I’ve got a lot of family that stand by me whatever I do.
After twenty years of being gone I finally see who I am.
I’m a son, a brother, an uncle, a nephew, and cousin;
But more than these I am a father first, I am a family man.

06/28/07
APN

With all my love and heartfelt congratulations to my brother Paul. Can’t wait to have you home again!

Leave a Reply

